Members Relaunch the Bipartisan Task Force for Combating Anti-Semitism

February 27, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – Representatives Nita Lowey (D-NY), Chris Smith (R-NJ), Eliot Engel (D-NY), Kay Granger (R-TX), Ted Deutch (D-FL), Randy Weber (R-TX), Marc Veasey (D-TX), and Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA) re-launched the Bipartisan Task Force for Combating Anti-Semitism in the House of Representatives for the 116th Congress. As the Co-Chairs of the Task Force, the Members of Congress issued the following joint statement:

“The age-old scourge of anti-Semitism remains a very serious problem today. It was just under four months ago that we witnessed the worst attack on the American Jewish community in our nation's history, leaving 11 worshipers dead and seven injured in a Pittsburgh synagogue. Jewish communities across the United States and around the world fear for their physical safety and the security of their institutions. Congress has an important responsibility to raise awareness of this anti-Jewish bigotry and to condemn and combat it in all its forms. We look forward to working with our Congressional colleagues to do all we can to fight anti-Semitism.”

Background on the Task Force: 
Reinstated in the 114th Congress with more than 100 Republicans and Democrats, the Task Force works to ensure that Congress plays an integral role in condemning anti-Semitism and spearheading initiatives that promote tolerance worldwide. In the 116th Congress, the Task Force will continue to serve as a forum for educating Members on this distinct form of intolerance and to engage with the Administration, foreign leaders, and civil society organizations to share best practices and collaborate on solutions to rebuff this systemic problem. It will also promote Holocaust remembrance in concert with exploring innovative ways to teach tolerance and confront hate.