Representative Nita Lowey

Representing the 17th District of New York

House Bipartisan Anti-Semitism Task Force Praises Organization of American States Secretary General's Support for Working Definition of Anti-Semitism

June 10, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC - Today, the Co-Chairs of the House Bipartisan Task Force for Combating Anti-Semitism issued this statement after Organization of American States (OAS) Secretary General Luis Almagro pledged to adopt an official definition of anti-Semitism established by the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA):

"Anti-Semitism knows no boundaries. Sadly, cases of violence, vandalism, and intimidation against Jews occur throughout the Americas. But we are deeply encouraged by OAS Secretary General Almagro's unequivocal stance against anti-Semitism and his pledge to adopt IHRA's working definition for the countries of the Americas. The condemnation of this anti-Jewish bigotry by the inter-governmental body sends an important message to Latino Jewish communities that their governments are invested in tackling anti-Semitism. We applaud the OAS for taking this step and we look forward to seeing their continued commitment to this critical issue.”

The Co-Chairs include Representatives Nita Lowey (D-NY), Chris Smith (R-NJ), Eliot Engel (D-NY), Kay Granger (R-TX), Ted Deutch (D-FL), Randy Weber (R-TX), Marc Veasey (D-TX), and Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA).

In June 2017, the Task Force sent a letter to the European Parliament praising its endorsement of a working definition of anti-Semitism adopted from the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance